Medical Colleges in Telangana

Updated on: Mar 9, 2015

There are currently 20 medical colleges in Telangana - out of which 5 are government colleges, 3 are minority institutions and 12 are non-minority colleges, in total offering 2,950 MBBS seats.

The Telangana state government also plans to set up at least 5 new medical colleges - one each in 5 districts in Telangana that don't have any medical college till date - in Nalgonda, Medak, Karimangar, Mahbubnagar and Khammam. The government also plans to ensure that these colleges will get approved by the Medical Council of India (MCI) within three years.

Given here is a list of some of the well known medical colleges & research institutes in the state. The list is not exhaustive; you can write to us giving us further updates about colleges in Telangana:

  1. Osmania Medical College, Koti, Hyderabad
  2. Gandhi Medical College, Musheerabad, Secunderabad
  3. Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences NIMS, Somajiguda, Hyderabad
  4. Kakatiya Medical College, Warangal
  5. Government Medical College, Nizamabad
  6. Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Adilabad
  7. Mamata Medical College, Giriprasad Nagar, Khammam
  8. Deccan College of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad
  9. Shadan Institute of Medical Sciences (SIMS), Hyderabad
  10. Kamineni Institute of Medical Sciences (KIMS), Narketpally village, Nalgonda District
  11. Bhaskar Medical College, Yenkapally, Hyderabad
  12. MediCiti Institute of Medical Sciences (MIMS), Hyderabad (affiliated with NTR University of Health Sciences)
  13. Chalmeda Anand Rao Institute of Medical Sciences (CAIMS), Karimnagar
  14. Prathima Institute of Medical Sciences, Karimnagar
  15. SVS Medical College, Mahbubnagar
  16. MNR Medical College, Sangareddy  (affiliated to NTR University of Health Sciences)
  17. Malla Reddy Institute of Medical Sciences, Jeedimetla, Hyderabad (affiliated to NTR University of Health Sciences)
  18. Government Nizamia Tibbi College, Hyderabad (a unani medicine college)
Subscribe to our newsletter